Academician G.G. Devyatykh

Grigory Grigorievich Devyatykh, Academician of RAS (1981-2005), is one of the well-known chemistry scientists in this country, the head of the domestic scientific school on chemistry of high-purity substances and materials, founder of the Institute of Chemistry of High-Purity Substances of RAS, Lenin and State Prize Laureate, honorary citizen of Nizhny Novgorod, participant of the Great Patriotic War.

G.G. Devyatykh was born on December 1, 1918 in Baranovshchina village, Nolinski Region, Kirov Oblast. He started his working career in 1936 as a teacher of primary school. In 1937 he entered the Chemical Faculty of N.I. Lobachevski Gorky State University. In 1941 G.G. Devyatykh joined the Red Army. After demobilization in 1945 he worked at Gorky Polytechnic Institute where in 1948 he got his Ph.D. degree. From 1949 G.G. Devyatykh worked at N.I. Lobachevski Gorky State University (GGU) conducting research on thermodynamics of isotopic solutions and on their separation. This work was presented in the form of doctoral thesis which G.G. Devyatykh defended at the beginning of 1955. The same year he was elected as Head of the Department of Inorganic Chemistry of GGU and headed it up to 1972.

The production and analysis of high-purity substances and materials became the field of the scientific interests of G.G. Devyatykh from the middle of the 50s. This problem has been actively developed by him at the Department of Volatile Compounds of Metals and Special-Purity Substances at the Institute of Chemistry of the USSR Academy of Sciences. In 1974 G.G. Devyatykh was elected Academician of the USSR Academy of Sciences.

The success in his scientific school led to the organization of the Institute of Chemistry of High-Purity Substances of the USSR Academy of Sciences in 1988 which became one of the leading centers on chemistry and technology of high-purity substances and materials. G.G. Devyatykh was the Director of the Institute from 1988 to 1998.

G.G. Devyatykh paid an outstanding contribution to the theory and practice of ultrapurification of substances, to the development of high-sensitive methods of analysis, to the production of substances and materials with a record-breaking degree of purity and to the investigation of their properties. The results of his accomplished research assisted the development of chemistry of high-purity substances as a fundamental scientific discipline which is the basis for many sections of material science, micro- and opto-electronics, fiber optics, IR– and semiconductor engineering. G.G. Devyatykh published more than 600 papers, including 6 monographs and more than 100 inventions. Many eminent scientists, creators of their own scientific schools and directions reckon themselves members of his scientific school.

Up to his last days G.G. Devyatykh actively developed the scientific topics of great fundamental and applied value. Outstanding results were obtained in the field of the production of monoisotopic substances. Development of domestic technology for materials of power and fiber optics in the middle infrared range, of the scientific fundamentals and technology of optical fibers for lasers and optical amplifiers are regarded by scientific community as an outstanding achievement.

G.G. Devyatykh carried out an active scientific organizational and educational activity, a large amount of work on training scientific personnel. More than 100 Ph.D. and 20 Dr.Sc. theses were defended under his guidance. He is the organizer of the Collection Exhibition of Special-Purity Substances at the Presidium of RAS, of the Scientific Council of RAS on the Chemistry of High-Purity Substances; he was the Editor-in-Chief of the journals «High-Purity Substances» and «Inorganic Materials». For more than 40 years G.G. Devyatykh was Head of the City and Region divisions of «Znanie» society. G.G. Devyatykh is the Laureate of Lenin and State Prizes, he was also awarded the D.I. Mendeleev Golden Medal, the A.S. Popov Prize. For his achievements in the development of higher education and domestic science he was awarded the Order of the Red Banner of Labor, October Revolution, the Order of the People’s Friendship, the «Order of Service to the Fatherland» (IVth degree), Hero of the Socialist Labor.

Русский/English

Академик Г.Г. Девятых

Академик РАН Григорий Григорьевич Девятых (1918-2005 )- один из крупнейших ученых-химиков нашей страны, глава отечественной научной школы по химии высокочистых веществ и материалов, создатель Института химии высокочистых веществ РАН, лауреат Ленинской и Государственной премии, Почетный гражданин Нижнего Новгорода, участник Великой Отечественной Войны.

Г.Г. Девятых родился 1 декабря 1918 года в д. Барановщина Нолинского района Кировской области. Трудовую деятельность начал в 1936 году как учитель начальной школы. В 1937 году поступил на химический факультет Горьковского государственного университета им. Н.И. Лобачевского. В 1941 году Г.Г. Девятых был призван в ряды Красной Армии. В 1945 году после демобилизации работал в Горьковском политехническом институте, где в 1948 году защитил кандидатскую диссертацию. С 1949 года Г.Г. Девятых работает в Горьковском госуниверситете им. Н.И. Лобачевского, проводя исследования по термодинамике растворов изотопов и их разделению. Эти работы были представлены в виде докторской диссертации, которую Г.Г. Девятых защитил в начале 1955 года. В этом же году он был избран на должность заведующего кафедрой неорганической химии ГГУ, которой руководил до 1972 года.

С середины 50-х годов областью научных интересов Г.Г. Девятых становится получение и анализ высокочистых веществ и материалов. Эта проблема активно разрабатывалась им в Отделе летучих соединений металлов и веществ особой чистоты Института химии АН СССР. В 1974 г. Г.Г. Девятых избран академиком АН СССР.

Успех созданной им научной школы привел к организации в 1988 году Института химии высокочистых веществ АН СССР, ставшего одним из ведущих центров по химии и технологии высокочистых веществ и материалов. Г.Г. Девятых возглавлял созданный им институт с 1988 по 1998 год.

Г.Г. Девятых внес выдающийся вклад в теорию и практику глубокой очистки веществ, разработку высокочувствительных методов анализа, в получение веществ и материалов с рекордным уровнем чистоты и исследование их свойств. Результаты выполненных им исследований способствовали становлению химии высокочистых веществ как фундаментальной научной дисциплины, базовой для многих разделов материаловедения, микро- и оптоэлектроники, волоконной оптики, ИК – и полупроводниковой техники. Г.Г. Девятых опубликовано более 600 работ, в том числе 6 монографий и более 100 изобретений. К его научной школе причисляют себя многие известные ученые – создатели собственных научных школ и направлений.

До последних дней жизни Г.Г. Девятых вел активную разработку научных тем, имеющих важнейшее фундаментальное и прикладное значение. Достигнуты выдающиеся результаты в области получения высокочистых моноизотопных веществ. Как выдающийся результат научной общественностью рассматривается разработка отечественной технологии материалов для силовой и волоконнной оптики среднего инфракрасного диапазона, разработка научных основ и технологии волоконных световодов для лазеров и оптических усилителей.

Г.Г. Девятых вел активную научно-организационную и педагогическую деятельность, большую работу по подготовке научных кадров. Под его научным руководством защищено более 100 кандидатских и 20 докторских диссертаций. Он является организатором Выставки-коллекции веществ особой чистоты при Президиуме РАН, Научного совета РАН по химии высокочистых веществ, был главным редактором журналов «Высокочистые вещества» и «Неорганические материалы». Более 40 лет Г.Г. Девятых руководил городским и областным отделениями общества «Знание». Г.Г. Девятых – лауреат Ленинской и Государственной премии, Золотой медали им. Д.И. Менделеева, премии им. А.С. Попова. За заслуги в развитии высшего образования и отечественной науки награжден орденами Трудового Красного Знамени, Октябрьской Революции, Дружбы Народов, «За заслуги перед Отечеством» IV степени, удостоен звания Герой Социалистического Труда.